Esphome and tire pressure sensors (TPMS)

Hi all,

I just started with esphome and i plan to put one into my old car and turn it into a smart car.

I’m wondering has anyone tried this with wireless tire pressure sensors?

Short answer; no I have no experience with TPMS sensors being used in an electronics hobby aspect. However, I know the basic concepts to setup a system to use them.

First you need a radio receiver. You can find the hardware pre-made and try to interface with it or make your own with an RTL-SDR. Get one that matches the frequency of the sensors, either 433MHz (most of Europe) or 315MHz (pretty much the rest of the world). From there you need to figure out the output from said receiver. Whether it is serial based like SPI, or I2C, or CANBUS (typical for the actual receiver in a car), or other. CANBUS will more than likely require special wiring. Last thing to do is figure out or find the documentation for the communication protocol. This will give you a list of commands to send to the receiver which then sends out to the transmitter or replies with requested data. Each sensor will transmit its serial number followed by data. On a newer car with TPMS, these serial numbers are registered to the receiver so that it only reads those sensors. Imagine driving down the road and your car starts picking up the 5 other cars around you… it’d get confused really quick.

1 Like

Here is a guy explaining TPMS

This should give you a good idea of what you need.

5 Likes

Anyone have success getting their TPMS data? I tried getting it thru an OBD2/Torque, setup but no luck.

I’m also interested in this, anyone had any luck?