ESPHome on Tuya CBU based Milfra dimmer

Looking to get ESPHome working on a Tuya CBU module that is used in an inexpensive Milfra smart dimmer switch. Amazon link - Milfra Smart Dimmer Switch. I’m not seeing much documented for this particular Tuya module, and nothing for this module as used in a dimmer switch with a secondary 51 series MCU hanging off of the RX2/TX2 pins. I’ve already got the dimmer torn down, which was simple, just a fair number of screws, and wires attached for programming. I’d prefer not to brick the unit, so I’d like to get a backup of the flash contents before I proceed with any testing, and I’m not clear on how to do that since this is my first attempt at working with a Tuya based device. So far I’ve only worked with setting up custom ESP8266 and ESP32 devices I’ve designed & built where I have full knowledge of the design and and no existing firmware to worry about being able to flash back to the device.

I’ve inspected the main control board of the device (it uses two boards linked by a 2x4 pin header, one for low voltage logic, one for high voltage control) and as best as I can tell visually, the little 51 series MCU controls the dimmer circuitry on the secondary board, as well as the single digit LED display. There are a couple of the GPIO pins on the CBU module connected, and I believe these are for the two buttons. I’ll hopefully have at least a few minutes this evening to probe the buttons and verify which MCU they are connected to and will update once I’m certain.