ESPHome: sensor and display on same esp board

Maybe a dumb question or a noob question, but is it possible to connect a screen on an esp32 board and use the same esp board to connect and read some sensors?

I would like to show several values on the display, but at the same time add some sensors to it for temperature/humidity/air quality…

Or do I need to use a second esp board for the sensors?

You can have as many sensors as you have available GPIO ports.

Or even more if you are using sensors with an I2C interface :slight_smile:

Ah thats great!

So the display can be the home station with it’s own sensor for several measurements.

I am using I2C sensors; I did test them once with a esp board, but that was not connected to Home Assistanr, but a stand alone project.

Because I am pretty new with esphome I was not sure if the display and the sensors would disturb eachother…

And even more, up to 128 if you use MCP23017 port expanders. Here is a YouTube video where someone demonstrates the port expander on ESPHome.

1 Like

I have ordered a 4 ich display, but today I have tested with a tiny 0.91 inch :grin:

But I succeeded in connecting a bme280 board and show its measured values on the display, which has been connected to the same esp board!
It is pretty easy!

And within the Home Assistant dashboard the sensors are also visible.

Tnx for your reply.

Did you check that the board is supported by ESPHome ??

Unless it’s one of the supported e-paper ones it is probably not supported as @Branko said. Got a link?

@gaz99 @zoogara
Hi, it is this board which should be used with ili9488 driver and it is mentioned on this esphome page:
ESPHome and ILI9xxx

The ordered display:
4 inch TFT

So, it should be good, not?

That looks pretty good. the largest ILI9488 I could find a while back was 3.2 inch. I use heaps of them and the driver and resolution are the same so this should be fine.

Let us know how you go.