ESPHome v 1.19.4 add on in Home Assistant - devices never get "Connected"

I’m trying to add a new NodeMCU ESP8266 cP2101. I’ve tried from both Linux Ubuntu 18.04, and 20.04. I’m connecting the device to the local machine via USB. I then click the add button on the ESPHome web UI, and enter the device name no spaces, and my Wifi information. I click Next, and it asks me to select the device from a list of TTY connections. it’s listed as CP2101 USB to UART Bridge Controller (ttyusb0) - Paired.

I select it, click Connect, and it immediately takes me back to the options to pick a device connected to this machine, or “Skip This Step” and / or “Connect” (just depending on where I get to the dialog from.

Any idea what may be going wrong? Any help is greatly appreciated, as I’m brand new to ESPHome stuff, but wanting to learn. Thank you.

Also, to be clear, I’m using Google Chrome, and connecting over https to my HA install.

Here’s a short video of what I see happen each time.

I also looked at the browser developer console. I can see where it says the following:

Uncaught (in promise) Error: Request not successful (502)
core.7ce1f920.js:1 WebSocket connection to 'wss://mcghomeassist.routemehome.org/api/websocket' failed: 
a @ core.7ce1f920.js:1
/api/hassio_ingress/SANoyCkiutLdX-NZ26V_mO7CWCjNlFUGrJnCbi2vH4k/ping:1 Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 502 ()
VM111 index-7db316db.js:1 Uncaught (in promise) Error: Request not successful (502)
​ WebSocket connection to 'wss://mcghomeassist.routemehome.org/api/hassio_ingress/SANoyCkiutLdX-NZ26V_mO7CWCjNlFUGrJnCbi2vH4k/ace' failed: 
f @ VM111 index-7db316db.js:1
/api/hassio_ingress/SANoyCkiutLdX-NZ26V_mO7CWCjNlFUGrJnCbi2vH4k/ping:1 Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 502 ()
VM111 index-7db316db.js:1 Uncaught (in promise) Error: Request not successful (502)
core.7ce1f920.js:1 WebSocket connection to 'wss://mcghomeassist.routemehome.org/api/websocket' failed: