Essential doubt about Home Assistant

Hi everyone :slight_smile:

I am new on the forum so greetings to everyone.

I have a question and I apologize in advance if it’s to dumb or this have been asked before, but I have searched on the forum and through the Internet and I didn’t find anything too useful which helped me clear my mind.

I have been using a Raspberry Pi 3 for a few years as a media center, retropie and as a server to download with qbittorrent and amule. Recently I have purchased a RPi4 and I have been looking about things to do with it and discovered about Home Assistant.

My question is: what would be the difference between google home and Home Assistant? I know google assistant is like a software and it’s not possible automatization from there, but for what I understand, with Google Home (I never had one before btw) you can automate several stuff. There are also applications like IFTTT which allows some automatization too.

Not only that, but my biggest doubt comes when I see it’s possible to integrate Home Assistant with IFTTT, Alexa, Google Assistant and similar, which has me completely lost.

So what’d be the difference between HA and Google Home or similar? I am not very good at this topic but I really would like to try Home Assistant for my house, but I want to be sure I am not missing anything about the utility of HA.

Thank you very much y’all and I apologize if the question is to dumb but I am quite an amateur on this and I am just starting.

Alberto,
i am new here as well… so i cant go that tecnical! but from my perspective, is that with HA you have no limits! if you are a creative guy and with time to spare! your dreams are your limits!
you can integrate everything!
my example i have google home, HA, Apple HomeKit, z-wave devices, Bluetooth devices all integrated together!