Ethernet isn’t working!

Hello team!

Newbie here!

I bought a raspberry pi 5 and tried to install latest version of HA and can’t get any signals from the raspberry pi Ethernet port isn’t blinking. I’m using a SD card.

So I tired these steps but no luck.

1.Tried installing 11.5 version as I saw someone mentioning their is an error with latest version

1. Tried changing cables and different ports.

2. Checked if the DHCP enabled on my Tp Link router and its.

Any help would be appreciated.

TA

Hello!

Just looking at at Raspberry pi 5 install instructions from Raspberry Pi - Home Assistant (home-assistant.io);

• The time it takes for this page to become available depends on your hardware. On a Raspberry Pi 4 or 5, this page should be available within a minute.
    • If it does not show up after 5 minutes on a Pi 4 or 5, maybe the image was not written properly.
      • Try to flash the SD card again, possibly even try a different SD card.
    • If this did not help, view the console output on the Raspberry Pi.
      • To do this, connect a monitor via HDMI.

Hopefully they’ll be an indication on the monitor/TV connected to the Raspberry Pi. If not try installing the default Raspberry Pi image via the same image to boot to a desktop OS and see if the network works there (you can image over the network too, but make sure you’re testing the ethernet rather than the wifi)

Hope that helps!

Thanks heaps Alex. I’ll give this a try and see. Appreciate your reply!

Test cable and port in router/switch by connecting another computer than the Raspberry Pi.
Or actually any other device with an ethernet port, because just getting the link and activity leds active will tell you that something is working.

Hi Wally,

I tried connecting my PC to the router and it’s working fine. I just can’t get Raspberry PI to connect.

HI, welcome to the forum!

I would also try another system - since your using it with an SD card - to see if the ethernet port is functioning.