Events table: not storing state_changed events

Hello the Community,

I am new to Home Assistant, but quite experienced with OpenHAB. I have set up my first home assistant server, with the following characteristics:

• Virtual Machine in VMWare, installed with the OVA file;
  • KNX bus integrated with currently 2 lights;
  • Recorder with MariaDB backend, on a Synology NAS, which I suppose works fine.

I am able to toggle ON or OFF the 2 lights with HA, I can see their history in the HA webpage, and I can see the entries in the “states” table with sql queries. However, when trying to find the events in the “events” table, I have nothing. All the events in the table have the event_type as “NULL”, and in the table event_types, there are only 20 entries, and the “state_changed” entry is not present.

I am wondering what I did wrong. I did not install the MariaDB container on the HA server itself, as I’m using MariaDB on Synology, where I gave the user “hass” the full permissions on the “HASS” database, but no server wide permissions.

This is my config, without personal info:

recorder:
  db_url: mysql://hass:[email protected]/HASS?charset=utf8mb4
  include:
    domains:
      - light

Do you have any pointers on where to look ?

Thanks a lot.

Jean-Marc

Additional info: when I disable MariaDB so that HA uses SQLite again, I have the same behaviour.

What does your SQL query look like, can you post. With the recent releases the database in HA has gotten a bit more complex. The old days of a simple one table query for most useful info is no longer possible. Below is an example I shared on new vs. old queries, good hunting! :

Thanks for your answer.

I understand the queries you sent. On my side, I don’t have queries yet. I was going through the docs, and saw the state_changed event_type, but on my installation, I don’t even see it in the event_types table