Existing Alex-enabled devices: not much there

Hello everyone!

I’m new to HA. I have a Raspberry Pi 4 running HA and it’s all set up.

I have a ton of smart things in my home from over the years and very few of them show up after getting everything configured.

I’ve added HA Cloud, and unlike some YouTube videos I’ve seen, no speakers show up under the “Try Text to Speech” (just “Browser”).

I’ve added the Alexa skill for HA, got the iOS app configured, etc. It seems like I’ve done all the initial steps.

Most of my Alexa-enabled devices are configured through the Smart Life app and Wyze app. I added Wyze through HACS and can get to most of those but even that’s very limited to just bulbs and outlets.

I have 20+ Amazon Basics Alexa-enabled light switches installed in my home and none of those show up. Nothing in Smart Life shows up.

Maybe HA isn’t for me and my setup, or I have something misconfigured. I’ve Googled and watched a ton of videos and still feel lost.

Any advice of where I should look for answers? TIA :slight_smile:

Anyone have advice?

smart life devices are apparently tuya devices, so you can implement them through tuya or the custom local tuya.

As for amazon basics, this post on reddit might help.
https://www.reddit.com/r/homeassistant/comments/s7uon3/amazon_basics_smart_dimmer/

The amazon alexa skill connection is so that you can get home assistant devices working in alexa, not the other way around.

1 Like

I have limited experience with this particular aspect of working with Alexa & HA, because I only have one device paired directly to Alexa (a plug that came as a “bonus” with the Alexa and “works exclusively with Alexa”) but my understanding is that, anything that is paired directly to Alexa isn’t exposed to anything external.