Expand function, lists in template entity attribute and self-referencing

For an enhancement request I created the template sensor below as an example (Binary_sensor group, add attributes to show which entities in the group are on resp. off)

It’s intention is to mimic a binary_sensor group but add attributes that show which group members are on and which are off.
The implementation below seems to work but I’m not 100% sure I fully understand what I am doing here ;-).

1. I’m fairly new to the expand() function and still struggle a bit what exactly it is doing. Also it seems that this function is not part of the Jinya specification but an add-on by Home Assistant - right ? Does anyone have a good reference to learn more about it ?
    The initiailization for self reference via this also seems to be tricky, what comes first ? The only way I was able to make sure I don’t get errors in the logbook at startup was to add defaults to all those references.

2. I read somewhere in the docs that attributes can be of any type, including lists. The only way I was able to create such a list for an attribute was with the somewhat clumsy notation below (I’m glad though @petro mentioned this way in a post - otherwise it wouldn’t have worked at all). Is there a better way to specify a static list for an attribute? Idealy I would be able to use the node anchors I had created and used in the groups - that way the lists could be re-used.

template:
  binary_sensor:
  - name: "Contact Sensors"
    # important to set a default, this.attributes.sensors_on may not yet be initialized when the state is evaluated
    state: "{{ (this.attributes.sensors_on | default([])) != [] }}" 
    attributes:
      entity_id: >
        {% set sensors = [ 
          "binary_sensor.contact_a_state",
          "binary_sensor.contact_b_state",
          "binary_sensor.contact_c_state"
        ] %}
        {{ sensors }}