Expose Scripts in Homekit Bridge

Hello people,

First of all, I am new to HA, so please be indulgent on any mistakes I could make in terms of vocabulary.

My initial need was to run actions from HomeKit scenes. For exemple, when I said “Hey Siri, good nights” to turn off all lights and do other things.

I first created a scene in HA, but the UI to manage and edit scenes is frustrating : the scene is run each time you click on it to edit…

So I created a script to do all actions I needed to do. And then, I created a HomeKit bridge exposing my scripts in HomeKit as a switch.

The problem : it doesn’t work at all.

I can see my switch in AppleHome. When I turn it on, nothing is done, and then it come back to off (as expected I think).
The scripts associated is never ran in HA…

What I am missing ?
I could not find anything on that matter online.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

My script :

alias: Scène Bonne Nuit
sequence:
  - service: light.turn_off
    metadata: {}
    data: {}
    target:
      entity_id: light.all_lights
  - delay:
      hours: 0
      minutes: 0
      seconds: 5
      milliseconds: 0
mode: single
icon: mdi:weather-night
fields: {}

I’ve experienced the same thing with scripts exposed to HK. I got around it by creating an input_boolean helper and exposing that to HK. So, HK just flips the toggle and then an automation in HA watches for that and runs all my good night actions.

It’s not pretty, but it works.

I wanted to do a simple system to meet my needs…

So you have 1 helper that activate 1 automation, and in your automation you have the actions ?
Does the helper goes back to off automatically right after activation ?

Correct me if I’m wrong : the advantage of script vs doing it in automation is that I can reuse my script elsewhere ?

Yup. I have a helper called “Good Night Switch”. I have a lot of automations that trigger off of that for various things.