External InfluxDB and later integration with HA

Hello all,
I’m new to HA and I’m evaluating the best scenario for me and how to use HA.

From what I understood, most of sensors implementation are using MQTT, HA will consume it and later can “record” it on a InfluxDB.

From what I learned, I tend to prefer that I my sensors send their data directly to a InfluxDB.
I learned that it is possible to create sensors on HA based on external InfluxDB queries (although, looks like HA may have some limitations)

But now the questions are:

• How will HA perform doing its “business logic” and other features (eg alerts ) with this kind of “sensor based on InfluxDB” ?
  • How frequently does HA will query/polling the “InfluxDB sensor” ?
  • Instead of polling the InfluxDB for the latest state, is it possible to get notifications InfluxDB for updates on some change? (eg a switch sensor sends its state to InfluxDB, InfluxDB notifies HA that the state was changes/updated)

Hope you can help me to get it clarified!

Hi !
Not most sensors are using MQTT. Depends on what you setup :slight_smile:

• I don’t get the point here sorry
  • HA queries influxDB every 10secs
  • Nope, design of the integration is HA polling your database.

Are that queries frequency configurable? can it be config for each “sensor” ?

I mean, (I still dont know all HA features but) if there is some kind of alarms I want to generate over that “sensor” value/state, I understand it will be based on latest polled value from database?
But as you mentioned, it will only evaluate this alarms/checks every 10s?

Maybe this is another questions but, should I get advantage to add NodeRED to do stuff with “InfluxDB data” and then publish things to HA or something other way?

The frequency is not tunable.