Failing to create a simple automation -with a template reference- :(

Hi,

I’m new at HA and I’m having an issue with a simple templated automation.

Any help would be much appreciated.

What I’m trying to achieve:
An http GET request gets sent to a server when a given light is turned off. Said request must contain a query parameter that only refers to that light and will be used by the server

What I have done:

1- In customize.yaml, I have associated a test lamp’s device_id with its specific query parameter:

# customize.yaml

# Test Lamp
light.wiz_rgbww_tunable_08aae2:
  lamp_id: 1234567

2-In configuration.yaml, I have defined a generic action to be used by any light as it’s turned off:

rest_command:
  flag_device_turned_off:
    url: "http://192.168.1.32:3008?action=set.value&lamp_id={{ lamp_id }}&value=0"
    method: get
    content_type: "application/x-www-form-urlencoded"
    payload: ""

3- In the HA GUI, I have defined the corresponding automation for the same test lamp:
Trigger: when Test Lamp turned off
Conditions: none
Actions: Call a service → rest_command.flag_device_turned_off

Result:

When I turn off the light, the logs do indicate the automation has run.

The server does receive a GET request, however its lamp_id parameter value is empty.

Replacing lamp_id=‘{{ lamp_id }}’ by lamp_id=1234567 in the action definition causes the server to receive the expected query.

Obviously I don’t have a correct view of how to make lamp_id a variable that is set at action time using the corresponding customize.yaml entry I set for the lamp’s device_id.

Could anyone help?

Post the actual automation configuration. In the automation editor click the 3-dot menu at the top right, select “Edit in YAML”, copy the whole config then paste it here with 3 back ticks ``` on the lines above and below what you pasted.

alias: Flag Test Lamp turned off
description: ""
trigger:
  - platform: device
    type: turned_off
    device_id: 923afee7182321e77693a17cd0120cd3