Fans using GE 14827 switch and Zwave JS aren't working

Hello,
I’m fairly new to Home Assistant, but getting the hang of things and have a few automations written in Node-Red already as well. My goal is to replace Smartthings with HA because of the flexibility.

My HA instance is running on a Linux VM on my Unraid server. I recently installed a zwave stick ( HUSBZB-1) and added all of my light switches and fan switches. All of my lights are working correctly, I can control them from the overview screen in HA and in Node-Red.

Although I added my fan switches in the same manner as the light switches, none of them will work from either the overview screen in HA or Node-Red. When I manually turn the switch on or off, the status in the overview screen is reflected correctly, I just can’t seem to control them via software.

I searched the forums for my specific fan switch (GE 14827) and found some threads that were quite old and related to Open Zwave. I am using Zwave JS so I wasn’t sure if those were still applicable.

Has anyone experienced anything similar to this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

It’s fixed in an unreleased version of node-zwave-js. Unfortunately, you’ll either need to wait for an update, somehow downgrade to a version of node-zwave-js prior to 6.3.0, or manually edit the device config file, which may be difficult depending on how you’ve installed zwave-js.

Thanks for the response. Glad to hear it’s just a bug and nothing that I did wrong :). Do updates generally take a while? If it’s days/weeks, it’s no problem, if it’s months, my family may revolt!

If it takes that long, I can try to do the update myself as you mentioned. I added zwave-js as an integration through the HA GUI. Can you give a high level overview of how to edit the device config file?

Thanks again!

Not sure if you’re running into the same thing… but when I moved to the most recent update, it changed my fan switch from a light.(my fan name) to a fan.(my fan name)