Feature Request IDE

Hello, I’ve recently started to learn to code and I’ve made huge strides entirely by only writing code in Appdaemon ,so I’m new to programming all together ,but really enjoying it. As a beginner I think it would be a great way to get more people into Appdaemon if we had a better way of interfacing with the code we are writing making it a lot easier. I think Appdeamon is way superior to yaml or nodered because you can absolutely do anything in Appdeamon and there are plenty of resources online that will answer all of your python coding questions.

That being said as a beginner I make a lot of mistakes and I find it quite arduous having the error log window open and the appdaemon main log open and the app itself open, saving it then waiting for it to run then going back and forth between windows trying to figure out what went wrong then starting the whole process over again.

My solution is requesting a version of Home Assistant Config Helper for Appdeamon. Home Assistant Config Helper really makes writing yaml code much easier and I figure someone did the heavy lifting and it wouldn’t take much work to adapt it to Appdaemon. Doesn’t have to be Visual Studio code could be pycharm or whatever.

As a beginner I have no idea how to setup an IDE with Appdaemon (i just access the files using samba). I can’t use any of the linting or debugging because my IDE doesn’t recognize my entities or what “import appdaemon.plugins.hass.hassapi as hass” or any of the Appdaemon api commands.

If someone wanted to adapt Home Assistant Config Helper or if anyone has a better solution for writing code in Appdeamon with an IDE that would be great.

Did you try the visual studio code Python extension already?

1 Like