Feedback requested on plan for 40 controlled radiators

Hey all!

I’m new here and also new to domotica. Currently I’m interested in picking up a project in our shared office building. But since I’m a rookie I wanted to check in with you guys so see if I’m even close in going into the right direction :slight_smile:

Background
I’m in a share office building with about 14 people, 12 rooms, 700m2. We annually use about 4.000m3 of gas. Which feels like quite a bit to me :slight_smile: We have two thermostats, one for one room and one for the rest of the building (separate boiler). So it’s like one switch controlling the whole building. The rule was to close the radiator valves when you go home. But in practice, no one has done that in the last 10 years. (people, am I right?)
To make things worse within bussiness hours (when the thermostat is programmed to hours) only about 1/3 of the people are present. But all the rooms are heated. Better yet, one person often comes in at night to work or in the weekend. So the entire building is heated for one small space.

Alright, this ticks me off. This is just ignorant, wasteful and not durable.

Outline
So I wanted a way to control the boiler and the radiators per room. I’ve came up with the following list and thoughts:

• To start with the brains. I would need a Raspberry Pi to run HA
  • Each radiator should have a wireless thermostat valve.
    • There are about 40 radiators (indication from memory)
    • I was thinking of SEA801-ZIGBEE Programmable Thermostat if it will be a low budget. Or Tapo if there is more budget.
    • It would be nice to be able to manually override it if the system goes down.
  • To connect all the TRVs I need a ZIGBEE gateway.
    • I don’t know how many. The building is about 50m deep and it’s a 70yo concrete building. I guess this would be trail and error if I have to figure it out.