Finally I managed to get a setup for cast to nest hub working (dashboard)

Ive been struggling for a long time to get a smart way to cast Lovelace to my Nest Hub. Im not an expert and Im sure its a better way, but I could not find it anywhere. So I decided to share how I did it.

In short:
I have created an integration with IFTTT to fire a script that start the cast. reason: wanted a clever way to get it started if its not already casting to the nest hub.
I also created a script that at least work to get this working (feel free to let me know if its a smarter way).

Script:

'1602435208762':
  alias: Cast Dashboard
  sequence:
  - service: media_player.turn_on
    data: {}
    entity_id: media_player.nesthub9851
  - delay: 00:00:01
  - service: cast.show_lovelace_view
    data:
      dashboard_path: lovelace
      view_path: cast
    data:
      view_path: cast
  mode: single
  icon: mdi:cast

The IFTTT integration makes it possible to ask Google to cast Dashboard. This ends up in HomeAssistant as an event that triggers the script.

Just wanted to share since I have been struggling with this for quite some time.

Cheers

Petter

1 Like

Does it show your Lovelace longer then 10min?
With my settings for Catt, I must reload it every 10 min

I haven’t timed it, but it times out after probably 10 min. But then its just to ask google to cast and it comes back on. In my opinion its fine that it only shows when you ask for it :slight_smile:

IFTTT only lets you have 3 applets…

only 3 for free. but it only takes 1 to do this :slight_smile:

1 Like

Does the hub have a proximity sensor you can see in HA? otherwise you can work with a small zigbee proximity sensor which triggers the casting automation when walking up to the hub.

Does it work well, lovelace dashboard on nest hub? I’m thinking of buying 1 myself instead of mounting a tablet to the wall.

I will continue looking at different ways to start the cast i.e. Sensor.