Finding variable names for themes

Hello

I had a hard time finding the right variable names for my theme, respectively updating them accordingly when there was a change in home assistant updates. While it was a bit of a pain, I found a quite easy & straight-forward way to deal with variable names in themes. Since I didn’t found an up to date “how to find variable names” topic, I thought I’ll share my findings.

Please note this is just some reverse engineering and I’m not a HA developer. A more experience HA developer might give some more insights into the variable design.

To keep it simple, I assume basic knowledge in web development (especially CSS), shell (e.g. sh, bash, zsh) & git CLI is given :slight_smile: If somebody has a question regarding these topics, just reply and I’m happy to help.

HA STYLE

First of all, the variables for all themes can be found in the HA frontend repo under src/resources/ha-style.ts. Feel free to have a look at the (base) variables and overwrite them in your theme.

Please note you don’t have to overwrite all the variables of the theme, because some of them are just a layer of indirection (see description below). If you overwrite all of the variables, your template will just become bloated with useless definitions and harder to maintain. Start with the basic ones on top and see where it leads you to.

CONCEPT / LAYER OF INDIRECTION

There are some base variables, which are the “most generic ones”. They’re used everywhere and you might already get a nice theme by just overwriting them. However, there are also specific variables for different elements. In fact, there are multiple layers of indirection. This is where it gets a bit more complex - but not as complicated as it seems at first.