FireflyElectronix Doorbell Integration

I picked up a doorbell sensor from fireflyelectronix. They have some very vague instructions on adding it to HA using MQTT…needless to say, I’m not having any luck.

Here are the instructions they included

What I’d ideally like to do is get it setup to send an iOS notification to both my phone and my wife’s phone. Seems completely possibly, I’m just a little new to this whole platform so I can’t quite figure it out.

@fireflyelectronix

I basically setup a sensor to grab the battery voltage, which changes on each press, and is nice to monitor to know when I need to change it.

Then fire an automation based on that sensor updating. Note the first condition prevents it from going off anytime you restart.

Let me know if you need anything else, also @fireflyelectronix is a member on here if I get stumpped.

Thank you,

I guess part of my misunderstanding is setting up the automation end of it within the HA GUI. I setup the trigger, but its the Action part that has me stumped. From the looks of it, you did the setup through a configuration file.

@fireflyelectronix

Hi @james211,

For the automation to send to two phones, you can add multiple actions. Just duplicate the action from the first one and change service dropdown to the other phone. Here’s a screenshot from the GUI.

I tried that but I get an error message…also I’m not using a camera setup so I’m not sure why I’d need that part of the script.

Ok. Since you don’t have a camera setup that may be why you are getting the error. If you want to setup a basic notification, copy this in the service data section.

{
  "title": "Doorbell Notification",
  "message": "Doorbell Pressed"
}

Okay I’ll give that a shot.

I have a nest camera, but I haven’t figured out how to use it to grab a photo yet.

@fireflyelectronix