First time installing, no web UI

I’m new to Home Assistant and trying to get it running. I picked up an 8GB raspberry pi 4, couldn’t get it working and then discovered the 8GB model isn’t supported. I fortunately had an old raspberry pi 3b+ laying around so I downloaded the image for that, wrote it to the SD card using etcher and booted that up. I’m experiencing the same issue with both the rp4 and rp3b+ where I get it installed, it boots up, but I can’t access the web gui or ssh to it. I can log in with root if I hook a monitor and keyboard up to it, but that’s it.

I’m currently setup on the 3b+ since that appears to be fully supported. It’s booted, I can see it on the network in my router and have it’s IP address(192.168.1.107), however browsing to 192.168.1.107:8123 is returning “Site can’t be reached”. I can ping it, and I used “login” to access the OS on it and ran “cat /sys/class/net/eth0/address” which gave me the MAC address, and the MAC matches the machine assigned to 192.168.1.107 in the DHCP leases on my router. This is the same behavior I saw on the rp4, so now I’m thinking something else is wrong.

The following image is currently on my 3b+'s SD card: hassos_rpi3-64-4.12.img.gz

The web GUI is supposed to be running on port 8123 on the pi right?

Is there something else I’m missing in the install instructions that would cause this to not work?

As far as I can see you have done everything correctly and is correct on how to connect to Home Assistant.

Only thing I can suggest is to try and reinstall.

It takes a while to download everything the first time, and the instructions tell you to wait for 20mins or so. Did it eventually come up?

No, but I rebooted it, probably while it was downloading.

I missed the 20’ish minutes note. I’ll reimage the SD card and give it another go