Flashed ESP32, Lost Drive, Now Can't Add?

Hi All,

I’m new to ESPHome. I had just finished flashing my first ESP32 with a sensor added to it when I had a drive failure. I’m back up and running with a new drive but didn’t get a backup with the new ESP32 added before I lost the original drive.

I’m trying to re-add that same ESP32 and having a really difficult time.

• I go into ESPHome
  • add new device
  • create a new bin and download it
  • Upload it to the ESP32 connected to my desktop (not my HA host) and get a success message using https://web.esphome.io/
  • Unplug the ESP32 from my desktop and plug it into a wall charger

It doesn’t connect. and the added device in HA that I just created shows offline.

When I re-flash it, it doesn’t ask for wi-fi credentials again. Nothing has changed with those credentials so that tells me it’s keeping some information from the original setup.

Is this ESP32 a lost cause or am I doing something wrong?

Try to delete clean data from device. Probably it’s old firmware on it and something went wrong.

First off, more infos are necessary. :wink:

• How is ESPHome installed?
  • Are you using HA-OS and ESPHome as Add-on?
  • Do you have the YAML file anywhere? Or if you can remember, that would be enough: what settings did you set for the IP address? Or did you just leave the default (meaning no setting for IP)?
  • Can you get the IP address from the device (through your router) aka is it connecting to your WIFI?

The idea behind this is to connect to the device and than flash a new firmware OTA. That sgould work better and you will have the device in ESPHome from the beginning. More on that, if needed, after you answer the questions. :slight_smile:

IIRC, the WIFI credentials will be saved in a session cookie in the browser. So as long as you didn’t close the browser, the credentials will still be there.

Sorry for the lack of information. I’m running home assistant OS on a Proxmox virtual machine.