Follow-Up Question to "MQTT auto discovery isn’t working, but messages are visible"

I am new to MQTT. I have read/watched everything I can find, but I’m still having the same issue discussed here:

I have a switch and optical encoder connected to a raspberry pi zero W that I am wanting to use in my garage. I write the python on the pi zero to connect to the broker on HA and I am hoping to use auto discovery to see the entity and/or device.

Do I need to define each of these using a script as mentioned in the above reference? It seems like I should be able to specify everything from my Python script running on the pi zero w.

I am running:
Home Assistant 0.116.2
Installed from HassOS image (version 4.13)
on a raspberry pi 4, 64 bit

I uninstalled and re-installed the MQTT add-on broker and the MQTT integration:

When I runt the python program on the pi zero, listening with the MQTT integration I see this in HA. I see the values for both the switch and encoder on the Integration listener, but I don’t see any entities or devices.

Message 1 received on homeassistant/binary_sensor/Garage1Open/config at 9:48 PM:
{
    "device_class": "binary_sensor",
    "name": "Garage1",
    "state_topic": "homeassistant/binary_sensor/Garage1Open/state",
    "retain": "true"
}
QoS: 0 - Retain: false
Message 0 received on homeassistant/sensor/sensorGarage1/config at 9:48 PM:
{
    "device_class": "sensor",
    "name": "Garage1",
    "state_topic": "homeassistant/sensor/sensorGarage1/state",
    "retain": "true"
}

In the MQTT in home assistant’s integrations configuration, did you turn on “enable newly added entities” - this is needed for discovery.

Yes. I just verified again that this is turned on.

Looking at this https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/binary_sensor/#device-class device class should not be binary_sensor but something like garage_door