Forgot my username

OK, so I am feeling like an idiot. I forgot my username for Home Assistant. I can still acces through the iOS app on phone and iPad. Is there a way to find the username through the app?

Thanks

1 Like

Have you installed the SSH addon? You cloud simply log in and have a look at the auth file at /config/.storage

I’m new to Home Assistant, so perhaps there are easier ways.

No, but happy to try. How would I “log in” if I dont remember my username?

Well, If you’ve still got access via your mobile, just add your password or SSH public key to the SSH-addon configuration and log in as “root” via SSH.

Hey, thanks a ton. I very much appreciate it. I am a total noob and not yet familiar with coding. I am getting a “Bad gateway” message in the Terminal & SSH Web UI. What should I do at this point? I am thinking about installing the “other” SSH add-on and try that one. With that said, could you provide exactly what I should type in the SSH? I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks again.

So, I just installed another terminal & SSH and am getting the same 502: Bad Gateway error. I am at a loss. I Don’t know what to do at this point.

What username are you talking about? Normal HA Core username can be found at the bottom of the sidebar?

I am looking for the username for HA Core on RPi4. The bottom of the sidebar depicts my full name. When I try to login with that, I also get an error. I am usually really anal about this. I use 1Password for everything, but I apparently forgot to record the Username for the local.

Dang! Totally forgot that this is not the real username. Can you create a new user?

Yes. I can? Could I do that and make that the “owner”?

Yes, you could. But self-editing files in .storage is absolutely not recommended by the devs.
Mainly you will be able to login on a computer (I don’t like editing/searching/configuring on mobile myself, so you can totally skip this step).