Garadget configuration.yaml Request for assistance

Hi,

I’m new to HA, and the example configuration listed as part of the Garadget setup seems to be out of date.

Can any Garadget users please post their configuration code?

With Thanks,

-Philip

For what it’s worth, this is what I posted in the Garadget forum in its entirety, since I have a feeling Garadget’s servers will go away (and perhaps the forums with them?), but with MQTT, perhaps the device can live on past the servers. HA documentation also provides a little of this information at the bottom of the link, but I didn’t find it well explained.

Here is the code I put into my HA configuration.yaml.

mqtt:
  cover:
    - device_class: 'garage'
      unique_id: "298u9823983249hd928"
      name: "<friendly_name>"
      command_topic: "garadget/<name_created_during_setup>/command"
      state_topic: "garadget/<name_created_during_setup>/status"
      value_template: >-
        {% if value_json.status == 'closed' %}
          closed
        {% else %}
          open
        {% endif %}
      payload_open: "open"
      payload_close: "close"
      payload_stop: "stop"
  sensor:
    - name: "In state for"
      value_template: '{{ value_json.time }}'
    - name: "Brightness"
      unit_of_measurement: '%'
      value_template: '{{ value_json.bright }}'
    - name: "Reflection percent"
      unit_of_measurement: '%'
      value_template: '{{ value_json.sensor }}'
    - name: "WiFi power"
      unit_of_measurement: 'dB'
      value_template: '{{ value_json.signal }}'
    - name: "WiFi SSID"
      state_topic: "garadget/<name_created_during_setup>/config"
      value_template: '{{ value_json.ssid }}'

I’m no Home Assistant expert and the whole process took me quite a lot of digging and googling and piecing things together. To that end, I’ll try and write it all up here, and hopefully anyone else trying to get Garadget running with MQTT and HA will have an easier time.