Get info from nas using ssh

I want to get info from my nas using ssh on my nas.

Ive got hassio running on a Raspberry Pi.
So i want to logon to my Synology Nas that is running in the same network to get the public ip to check if the VPN on my nas is still working. (Ifconfig | grep tun0)
And want to use the result to send a push message.

I’m new to hassio and spend a while searching this forum, but only find things about ssh on the hassio server.

Can someone help me get started?

1 Like

Have a look here: https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/shell_command/

I think the shell_command integration can only be used to do something on the OS where Hassio is installed on.

I want to get information from another server. So I need to configure somewhere an IP, Username, Password, the command to execute, or something.
cq create a sensor on that gets information from another network nas using ssh.

Or can this be done with the shell_command?

Theree are ways which you can execute remote commands, but they are beyond my level of skill… mostly it has to do with authentication on the remote machine…

Except you can actually run ssh commands remotely to return data.

Thanks, i’ve done some research, and i think i got it.

I should be able to run a ssh comnand on the host that runs a ssh command on the remote. And indeed, the challenge is the authentication between the host and remote.

You just need SSH keys configured…

okay, got the ssh login without password is working. When I open ssh on Hassio, I now can run the following ssh command:

ssh admin@[ip my nas] ifconfig | grep -i tun0 | awk '{print $1}'

this returns

tun0

Created a sensor:

# nas
- platform: command_line
  name: 'vpn tunnel'
  scan_interval: 300
  command: "ssh -i ~/.ssh/id_rsa -o StrictHostKeyChecking=no -q admin@[my nas ip] ifconfig | grep -i tun0 | awk '{print $1}'"

But this does not work. Getting a timeout (looking at the log).