Get latest video ID from Youtube channel and play Youtube video on Kodi

I was looking for a way to play the latest video from a Youtube channel on Kodi just with one press in Home Assitant. I couldn’t find anything so i put something together. I am not a coder so it is possible this can be done much easier. But it works for me so i’m happy and i like to share it!
For me it is even a mirracle it works!:slight_smile:

In short what happens is; we retrieve the latest video id from a youtube channel trough the youtube data api and save this id together with a command to a text file. Then we run the command in the text file using the shell_command in Home Assitant.

Here are the instructions to set it up:

The final result is something like this:

If there are any questions i will try to answer them.

3 Likes

Neat idea and well explained in your readme on the git. Nice work, man!

Thank you @rpitera !

I think it would be awesome to somehow combine the code. So you can get the latest id and send the video with one command.
Then it should also be possible to use something as an input_select to set the host. So you can choose which Kodi instance (if you have multiple) plays the video.

And then there is no need to setup cronjobs. But using cronjobs can be an advantage

But i think that goes above my head :cry:

So i dived into this and apparently it wasn’t that hard to accomplish.
I updated the code a little bit. For who is interested you can find the new files here:

I added a small explanation on how to use this code, maybe i will add more detail later.

The advantages of this version are:

1. You now only need 1 youtube_to_kodi.php file (not one for every channel);
  2. You can execute the code with one command;
  3. The ip adress for the Kodi host now needs to be given in the command. (also port number)
  4. This makes it also possible that you can use Input_select.