Getting a C code output to MQTT

I’m currently using Bosch BSEC C library on a BME680.
https://github.com/alexh-name/bsec_bme680_linux
https://www.bosch-sensortec.com/bst/products/all_products/bsec

And I need help to get the data to MQTT to home assistant. That I believe would be the easiest way to get data to HASS.

Before you ask why not the use the BME680 sensor component. It’s a way more sophisticated implementation made by the manufacturer that calibrates itself that hopefully will give more meaningful results for air quality.
People did their best to get to work here but unfortunately, Bosch doesn’t offer its library in python.

The code right now basically output this:

$ ./bsec_bme680
2017-12-27 18:47:21,[IAQ (1)]: 33.96,[T degC]: 19.61,[H %rH]: 46.41,[P hPa]: 983.39,[G Ohms]: 540924.00,[S]: 0

I thought about 3 options:

1. Code the MQTT on the bsec_bme680.c. Like how I would do for python. However, I have no knowledge of how is done in C.
    https://github.com/alexh-name/bsec_bme680_linux/blob/master/bsec_bme680.c

2. Save the output as a .csv and mqtt every new line with some python script.

3. Save the output as a .csv and use NODE RED to parse and MQTT.

Any ideas or examples of how is done?

Can you not run that program using command_line and dump output to mqtt?

The answer to 1. is to use the mosquitto_dev package, which installs libmosquitto

If all you are doing is posting messages, it should be straightforward.

But you might be able to publish data from your existing app using a pipe directly to mosquitto_pub. This is an example from the man page

Send parsed electricity usage data from a Current Cost meter, reading
       from stdin with one line/reading as one message:

·   read_cc128.pl | mosquitto_pub -t sensors/cc128 -l
1 Like

That’s a great idea. I will give it a try.

The mosquitto_pub works :slight_smile: however I’m not sure if I can make it send as JSON to be parsed by Home Assistant. Couldn’t find on the mosquitto_pub documentation.