Getting difference between value of two sensors

Hello folks, I have two ecobees where they spit out temperature and humidity and I can track them in the history fine. Also using yo.no I am having my outdoor temperature and humidity added as a sensor. I am really interested in plotting the difference between the two temperatures. Any thoughts on how to do this either through influxdb and grafana or HA history/sensor component?

2 Likes

You could create a sensor that does simple math on the two other entities, then just simply graph that sensor.

Thanks, for the suggestion but I am relatively new to HA, how can I go about doing this?

Ahhā€¦are you familiar at all with how templates work?

Not at all :sleepy:

Thatā€™s where you need to start. Are you on HASS.io or a different version of Home Assistant? Whatā€™s your environment look like?

I am running on NUC through virtual box. Be honest with you I even donā€™t have a single automation script everything goes through node red.

Iā€™d use a template sensor and something like thisā€¦just change the entities for your ecobee and outside temperature sensor.

sensor:
  - platform: template
      indoor_outdoor_temp_diff:
        entity_id:
          - sensor.home_temperature 
          - sensor.dark_sky_apparent_temperature
        value_template: >-
          {% set ecobee = states.sensor.home_temperature.state|float %}
          {% set outdoor = states.sensor.dark_sky_apparent_temperature.state| float %}
          {{ outdoor - ecobee }}
1 Like

Awesome, I will try it tonight. Thank you so much.

Thanks @Jer78 that was perfect for what I was looking for too. There was one line missing that I needed to add to my config in case anyone else comes across it. I also rounded down the float for readability.

sensors:
      indoor_outdoor_temp_diff:
        entity_id:
          - sensor.living_room_temperature
          - sensor.dark_sky_apparent_temperature