Getting Distance value of HC-SR04 into HA

Hi guys

I have browsed the forums/internet and haven’t been able to find the code required to do this simple task. I’m not a coder so for me I’m not exactly sure which is the right path to go.

I have done the above, got it working in HA perfectly but I can’t seem to get the distance value to show. If someone could please check the code for me and help me out that would be most appreciated, thanks!

The .ino file in the project doesn’t send the actual distance. At line 152 it just published a 1 or a 0 for open or closed. This based on the ‘’‘isdooropen()’’’ function I think (I’m not that good at Arduino).

You’ll need to modify this sketch to output the distance instead of the boolean open/closed value.

You could have both the boolean and the actual value publish to seperate Matt topics, or you could just publish the distance and use HA to do the rest.

Alternatviely, you could look at using esphomelib. It supports this sensor, OTA updates, and sensor value smoothing (it’s really nice). There’s even a hassio add-on that integrates nicely with HA if you’re using hassio.

I feel like there’s such an easy modification to this code that someone who knows what they’re doing could help me out with. I will look at esphomelib though thanks.

I think you’re right. The ultrasonic library is supplying a distance value, you just want to publish it to mqtt instead of (or along with) the state boolean being calculated. Investing in learning esphomelib is only useful if you see yourself deploying a bunch of other boards for other uses.

I also think where I’m going wrong is the "value_template: " in the conf.yaml for HA. I’m not sure what to put there other than. value_template: ‘{{ value_json.distance }}’

The simplest change to retrieve the distance in centimetres is to change line 152 to:

mqtt.publish(MQTT_TOPIC, String(distance));

I haven’t tried that code myself, so can’t guarantee it will compile.