Getting started looking for orientation

Hi… I’m just getting started with home automation.
I’ve got a few lights and plugs setup from different sources. TP link, a CASA device or two, and a few different multicolor light strips. Each has it’s own smartphone app. I need to get them under one app to control them all. HA looks like one of the better options. It seems securable and open, so less likely to be obsoleted or pwnd in the near future. I’m dipping a pinky toe or two in, one at a time. I want to keep my house, in my house to keep things simple. I have a few raspi’s around, but never had to time to really dig deep.

I have a hacking background. I’m usually a Yak Shaver and start from scratch. It’s my nature. I want to try something completely different… integrate and not start from scratch. It’s easy to go down a rabbit hole and suck up all my copious free time, so I’m asking for some help, which is a novel thing for me.

I have a few smart plugs, 2 govees, a tp-link and a few kasa/tapo switches. … and a bathroom scale, that I want to keep off line. I have a wireless 2.4g router, a few smart phones, and a few laptops.

I know from looking at my router, that I have some unknown devices online. One in particular that I’m pretty sure is a smart plug. How do I talk to it and see what it’s doing manually. Like from a command line. I’m looking for resources, documentation and references.
Is there a place I can lookup where this stuff is in one place?
where I can get answers to questions such as:
What Protocols does it use?
What commands does it understand?
What ‘language’ does it speak?
What’s happening between the time I press the button and it starts flashing and the time that it’s app says it’s installed?
I can see other devices via my phone Bluetooth config page. I have a few bluetooth scanner apps that are so so.
How do I talk/listen to these devices?
What commnds do they understand?
What are the best discovery apps to use this?
Where do I go from here?