Getting started with HA Hardware

I’m looking for a bit of info around home assistant and wifi devices as I am new to the scene.

It seems people need to flash their devices to get them to show up in Home Assistant. Once this is done typically they device does not show up in say google home or TuyaSmart app. Is this true?

Are there devices that work with Home Assistant without lash (ie. out of the box)?

I’m looking for some smart wifi plugs that will work out of the box with HA and also remain within the smart apps (e.g google home). I"ve read that it is possible with the tp-links, but I haven’t heard any thing about other brands.

I am also looking for an IR universal remote that works with the apps and HA out of the box.

The ability to potentially flash these devices in future would also be a plus.

Any help appreciated!

You’ll want a zwave/zigbee stick. Otherwise you’ll make the dumb consumer mistake of putting 50 lightbulbs on wifi and having problems. It’s all about the access methods you use. I prefer zwave, personally.

Nope, not necessary unless you (like me) want to remove the devices dependency on a 3rd party cloud service.

Most do.

Too many to list

Broadlink among others.

Depends how much you want to get involved as Tuya based devices are getting harder and harder to flash. ie: no longer possible OTA in most cases

1 Like

This all comes down to having a decent wifi/network system. I had trouble with lots of devices on a basic router setup, but now with an Ubiquiti setup my wifi is rock solid with over 50 devices on wifi, plus a bunch of ethernet devices.

1 Like