Getting started with Modbus: asking for Gateway advice

I’m getting a sauna installed and it has a Modbus-RTU interface which I’d like to use to control the sauna using home assistant. I’ve looked at the docs and things look relatively straight-forward.

However, I am completely new to Modbus, and could use some advice getting this up and running. The first question I have is how to get HA to connect to the Sauna over Modbus. As I understand it I need a Gateway to convert Modbus-RTU to Modbus-TCP.

Can anyone recommend a good and not-too-expensive device that does this? I see loads of options, with wildly varying prices (50-500 euros). Ethernet is fine, Wifi would also be fine. The sauna has an RS-485 connection (three wires). Ideally I can configure the gateway using a webpage or a Mac tool (I’ve noticed that most need to be configured using a windows utility, which isn’t great for me as I don’t have a Windows machine).

Would love any tips, thanks!

What about a sub 10 euros DIY solution? ESPHome supports modbus, ethernet and wifi :raised_hands:

Was fast and were reading Sauna Assistant :wink:

Thanks! Sounds really interesting, but I’ve also never used ESPHome before :sweat_smile:. I imagine I need a microcontroller which I will need to flash with ESPHome, and make sure that the board has the right connections? (power, wifi/ethernet, serial) Is there a board you recommend?

In the mean time I found this which is more expensive but seems to do what I need – I think?

Indeed, but nowadays we just say “install” because it’s so easy :stuck_out_tongue:

Well all esp’s come with wifi (some come without atenna actually) and for ethernet you need a esp32.

In general a $2 D1 Mini (esp8266 - wifi only) should actually cover your needs and comes with onboard serial and micro-usb (or usb-c for v4) connector.