GivTCP SoC and forcing charge

I am new to HA and recently had a solar system installed using GivEnergy Inverter and battery.

I have a couple of question, below is a bit on context.

I tried the GiveEnergy Smart tariff, which is meant to forecast solar availability for the following day and charge the battery to x SoC based on that forecast, using low overnight rates, that seems to have a bug and discharges everything it imports. It is also meant to check, before the afternoon peak rate, if the battery isn’t full, it charges it, that also doesn’t work.

I have been using GivTCP to show some nice dashboard data and it has a facility to set the SoC based on a solcast forecast, I believe that that is working as my SoC target at the moment has changed from 70 to 47.

As I’m in the UK, I am on a electricity tariff that is based on 30 minute rates, with peak between 16:00 and 19:00 and the low cost overnight low rates time slots change, as does there cost also.

I have an add-on that can see those rates and changes a state to ‘On’ when it see the lowest continuous 3h block and enters that time period. So I believe I have a good method to enable an over night charge.

My questions are:

Under the devices, ‘GivTCP Control’ is an entity ‘select.givtcp_xxx_force_charge’, under this you have several options.

Normal
Running
Cancel

If in an automation, under an action, I change the state to ‘120’, should that set the inverter to start charging for 120 minutes or until the battery SoC reaches the Target SoC?

Second question,
How do I set the target SoC? Do I just call service, input:set number and update the number that I want it to be.

Thanks

1 Like

Hi.
Sounds like we have the same setup, I’m on Agile Octopus and want to achieve the same as you do.

From my playing, your assumption under force charge seems correct. it charges from the grid for the specified length of time after initiation.