Google Assistant only works on one google nest device?

I’m a noob and go HA working with google assistant using the guide (Google Assistant - Home Assistant). I am not using the cloud service. At first, it seemed to work fine. I tell it to fire a scene such as “ok google, kitchen mode on” and it fires the scene. This being when i’m talking to the google nest in my kitchen (the one with a screen).

When I walk to the family room and give the same exact command to a google home speaker sitting there, it does not fire and says “one or more devices are not available. you might want to try setting them up again.”

Anyone know why this might be?

Curiously it says the same thing if my wife tries to give a command on the google nest in the kitchen. i.e. it only fires in the kitchen and only when I give the command.

perplexing…

Do you have voice recognition setup? That may explain why your wife’s voice won’t trigger it.

Yes I believe so. I even did the re-teach thing in the google home app where it makes you say a series of phrases on the google home in my family room and then rebooted it. That didn’t fix it. Also the wife’s account is shared and also configured.

Are they all the Nest Hubs the same generation (1stGen vs 2ndGen)? Just trying to get a feel for your setup.

Did you sync the devices as well?

I think that you’re on to something…

I have a bunch of these devices of various kinds. I have a nest hub max, a nest hub, several home minis and several original google homes. I went around testing them and basically everything without a screen (google home, home mini) doesn’t work and everything with a screen does (nest hub, nest hub max).

1. I tried telling the device to sync devinces
  2. I tried firing off a scene via “ok google, activate cooking mode” or “ok google, cooking mode on” (both work on devices where firing off a scene works).
  3. I tried turning on all lights in my kitchen area via “ok google, turn on kitchen lights”.