Google Home controlling my Garage Doors via HA and ESPHOME - current state ignored

Greetings everyone… I’m still fairly new to HA, so please go easy on me… I’m plenty technical, however.
TLDR: Google Assistant disregards the current state of my garage door and just toggles it whenever I ask for it to close or open my garage.

I have a couple of ESP32 Sonoff SV’s. I mostly followed Dr Zzz’s 3rd gen garage door video
I configured it as a device class: garage in ESP yaml (see below), and it seems to work fine in HA.

One issue I’m having is that in Google Home… while it sees it come in as Device type: Garage via Home Assistant, and it knows if the garage is closed or open when I ask it verbally, “Is left garage open?”, it responds with “Left Garage is closed”, which it is. But if I then say “close LEFT garage” to Google, it says “one or more devices isn’t available, you might want to try setting them up again”. I previously had a Ewelink/CoolKit WiFi garage door controllers that were cloud enabled and connected into Google Assistant directly (I think) and/or maybe through SmartThings. I did my best at disconnecting that integration; but who knows, maybe I missed something?? I know this isn’t a Google Assistant specific forum, but do you know how I might troubleshoot that “one or more devices isn’t available” thing? I definitely see my Home Assistant’s “left garage” (and “right garage”) device in the Google Home app in my “garage” room.

Pics showing the devices in the Google Home app in Garage “room”.

Google Home app shows this on the device, which seems to indicate the current state of the door based on which button is highlighted.

My second issue, is if I tell Google via voice to “Close Garage”, which is a “room” that the left garage and right garage devices are in, then both garage doors “toggle”… if they were closed, they then open. If they were open, then they close.