Google's New Home Hub Is A1

Just got this thing this morning. Started adding a few things from HA and I absolutely love it!! This is perfect, I can control pretty much evrrything, I am going to look into changing some of the icons…not sure it’s possible though. Thought I’d share:)

4 Likes

This is exactly what I hope to do. Hopefully, I can get this working with my Abode alarm (including locks) and the rest of my stuff (Ecobee, Lutron Caseta, Lifx). Any tips to get the devices to show up as the right device type? I’m new to HA and can use all the help I can get. Thanks in advance.

You can get all of that in there. Ecobee works fine, I use that. No special config needed it works native with google. I have hue lights, I didnt sync them to google though, i sync them to home assistant then expose them that way to google. So i can create more groups and lights in more than 1 room. Its also a lot faster oddly enough. They show up as lights fine. Scripts do not show up in home view on google, so I just created input booleans since they show up in home view on google. just create an automation so when that boolean is flipped it controls what you need. Sonos shows up nicely, no grouping control though just volume. I created some scripts (and booleans) to group speakers as I like them normally. Both Nvidia Shield and harmony show up nicely with full controls.

Oh and you cant control locks. I have an august and it shows up fine and shows the state, but there is a note saying you cant control locks. Myq works great too…with a boolean.

Should I expect to be able to view statuses for my HA locks via Home Hub? That would be great. I don’t see them in the Home app currently, but maybe the Home Hub has additional functionality.

I have the August lock and it shows up and shows status. Just no control. I’m sure you could create an input Boolean and automation to control it if you need. Just have ha unlock it