Growatt Integration - Solar Assistant

I have two Growatt inverters that are working great for the past 6 months. The Growatt integration has been less great. Most of the time it is working fine, but as soon as I loose internet connection or something goes wrong with the Growatt server, I loose functionality with my automations. This has happened a couple of times already.
I have just discovered Solar Assistant. I have installed the software on a separate Pi and linked it up to the inverters. The config was quick and simple and the link the HA was also very easy. In less than an hour all my dashboards and automations are working 100% again. With the Growatt servers I could never get the Energy dashboard to make sense, but now it is working fine. The update time from the Growatt servers is only every 5 minutes, but now it is every 10s if required.
Solar Assistant is great and I would highly recommend it.

1 Like

I’m a noob. Have Growatt 5000Es over a year now. I’m having similar limitations as you had - failed automations due server side glitches, 5mins updates…etc

Could you guide me on how to implement the solar assistant on Growatt🙏

there is good how to guides on the website
https://solar-assistant.io/help/general/introduction

I have just ordered a new wifi-x module to reflash with ESPhome, to avoid the need to run/secure a raspberry Pi. if you search the forum here you will find instruction on how to flash and setup the dongle

If i cant figure out the ESPhome on the dongle i will look at solar assistant

Hope I’m not too late to join this thread but I have a Growatt inverter and battery but can’t seem to find out if the mode can be changed via the app, ie Battery First etc.

Thanks

You can only change the mode with the webinterface, using their very clunky and sometimes unstable settings window.