Growatt inverter with local decoding of the WiFi dongle<->RS232 messages

I’ve built an ESP8266 based dongle to fit between the inverter RS232 port and the WiFi dongle that communicates with the ShineLan box. I can successfully monitor all the data requested by the ShineLan box. This is updated approximately every 8 seconds, so is as “real time” as I’m likely to get, and without impacting on any of the Growatt server functionality. I don’t want to use the RS485 link as this is already used for communication with the battery… and am also having issues with my installer so don’t want to do anything that could add further fuel to those flames!

The inverter data provides access to literally thousands of 16 bit registers. I‘ve successfully published several of these (PV1&2 voltage and power, grid voltage and frequency, etc.), but I would ideally like a way to publish all the data to HA and then choose within HA which values get displayed and how.

I’m a novice with HA and components but comfortable with C++. I’ve worked out how to publish floats but wonder if there is a way to publish a raw byte string (i.e. not formatted text) and, if so, how to select and present the values in HA.

Using this method would send one message containing up to 250 bytes of information per second. Sending as floats would potentially require over 100 messages, so would not be practical.

Any constructive suggestions would be appreciated.

My growatt have 3 rs485

Yes my Growatt has 3 off RS485 - one for the current transformer, one for the battery interface and one unused. However, given my issues with my installer I don’t want to use the remaining RS485 so there can be no claims that I’m interfering with operation, regardless of if that makes any sense to anyone who knows what they are doing. Snooping the RS232 however cannot be accused of dooing that.
My dongle fits inline with the WiFi dongle with everything screwed together as a rigid structure fitting tidily under the inverter.