Guidance, please, on setting up motion-based lighting

Please note - I am a total noob with HA. I have a brand new hassbian install on a Raspberry Pi but I have yet to add a single component or make it do anything useful. I just login and see the welcome message. I’m struggling to get beyond that,

One of my goals is to have motion detection combined with light level detection that automatically turns on my kitchen lights. If it’s evening and we’re watching a movie/TV, then turn on the LED striplights under the cabinets. If we’re not watching TV, turn on the can lights in the ceiling. If it’s late at night (and I’m up to get a drink of water), then turn on the striplights. But if it’s morning or afternoon and it happens to be below a certain lux level (because it’s overcast outside or whatever), then turn on the can lights.

In case that’s as clear as mud, here’s some pseudocode…

If motion (detected in kitchen) {
   check light level
   if light_level = low {
      check TimeOfDay
      If TimeOfDay = evening {
         check IsTVon
         if TVon {
            turn on LEDstripLights
         } else {
            turn on CanLights
         }
      } ElseIf TimeOfDay = latenight {
         turn on LEDstripLights
      } else {
         turn on CanLights
      }
   } else {
      ; do nothing
   }
}

I have three Bosch (Zigbee) motion sensors, some LED strip lighting that’s not yet installed, and a Sonoff switch (that I put in the wall box behind the preexisting switch) that controls 6 can lights in the kitchen ceiling. My questions are…

1. Can anyone recommend an inexpensive, battery-powered light sensor? (Ideally, a DIY project?)
  2. Assuming I start the movie/TV with an HA command, can I set a global “WatchingTV” variable that other scripts can read and act on?
  3. Is there a similar script maybe out there already that I could use as a template?
  4. Someone must be doing something like this now. Any pointers would be appreciated!