[Guide] Separating ZWave to a Separate HASS Instance via MQTT Statestream

Background

I recently completed a major overhaul of my HASS setup. I took advantage of some free time to move off of hassbian to a Docker install on a standalone (pre-existing) server. That process was somewhat challenging but presented a number of opportunities. Most notably the ability to create a number of test instances to play around with without fear of harming my “main” instance.

I had seen several people discuss separating their ZWave network onto two separate instances, but I always pushed it to the side because I had everything running in hassbian and didn’t see a need. Now that I was running in Docker I decided I could test things out. Also, I’d seen some posts about zwave2mqtt so I figured I could experiment and see how things went.

Well, long story short, this was a difficult project for me. I’m not a coding expert and I found a lot of posts talking about the basics of how to separate/control two instances of HASS but not a lot of clear guidance or documentation. So I wanted to share exactly how I got it all working in case somebody else wants to try this.

The major advantage from separating my Zwave instance from the main instance is that I can now restart my main instance extremely quickly and I don’t have to wait for the Zwave network to come back online. I found this most frustrating when I was adjusting things (new scenes, sensors, etc) and would have to wait ~5 minutes between restarts. Now it’s <2 minutes and I can immediately test things.

Setup