HA and Sonoff (Basic) Not Toggling State

Hi, yet another HA newbie here, stuck and asking for help.I have read and tried a lot of suggestions in other posts talking about similar problems, but none seem to work for me, hence this post.

I have HA, Mosquitto and Python all running ok on my Pi 2 B. (all fully up to date). The sonoff is flashed with Tasmota 5.4

The problem I have, is that when I use HA to ‘Toggle’ the sonoff , the led just flashes, but does not change state. The sonoff console log records the response as {“Command”:“Unknown”}.

If I set up two puTTY sessions, one as mosquitto_sub and one as mosquitto_pub and send a command to the sonoff, it works ok, but if I use HA, the mosquitto_sub shows the payload as on or off appropriately, but the sonoff led falshes but does not change state.

My configuration.yaml is

- platform: mqtt
    name: "Master Bedroom Light"
    state_topic: "sonoff/master_bedroom_1/status"
    command_topic: "cmnd/sonoff/master_bedroom_1/switch"
    qos: 1
    payload_on: "Turned ON Main Light"
    payload_off: "Turned OFF Main Light"
    optimistic: false

puTTY pub and sub commands are:

$ mosquitto_pub -h hassbian -u <user> -P <password> -t cmnd/sonoff/master_bedroom_1/power -m "2"

$ mosquitto_sub -h hassbian -u <user> -P <password> -t cmnd/sonoff/master_bedroom_1/# -v

Any suggestions to get the sonoff behaving it’s self will be most gratefully received.

Your command_topic is different in your command and your configuration.yaml, also your state_topic starts with sonoffand your command line on putty starts with cmnd

PS: Are you sure your payloads have to be that long? Maybe they have to be something like “ON” and “OFF”