HA Automations Entity State Values

I am just getting started with HA and mostly I have figured things out. I am having a particular problem with an automation for a Sonoff TH16. My aim is to turn on or off the switch side of the TH16 by determining first if the switch is on or off and secondly whether the current temperature is above or below a given temperature. The temperature state value comparison is where it falls apart. It seems that the temperature state value and the set value in the automation condition may not be the same data type. The sensor attribute value appears as expected in the Developer/States display and in the eWeLink app. I guess the question is if the state value is expressed as a number or text string and the same for the comparison value in the automation condition entry.

alias: Hot Water Recirc On
description: ''
trigger:
  - platform: time_pattern
    minutes: /2
condition:
  - condition: and
    conditions:
      - condition: state
        entity_id: switch.sonoff_######
        state: 'off'
      - condition: time
        after: '05:00:00'
        before: '23:59:59'
      - condition: numeric_state
        entity_id: sensor.sonoff_######_temperature
        below: '95'
action:
  - service: switch.turn_on
    target:
mode: single

The following automation triggers when any of the following occurs:
The switch is turned off.
OR
The time is 05:00.
OR
The temperature decreases from above to below 95.

When it triggers it confirms:
The switch is turned off.
AND
The time is after 05:00.
AND
The temperature is below 95.

If all three conditions are true then the switch is turned on.

In other words, if for any reason the switch is off after 05:00 and the temperature is below 95, the switch gets turned on.

alias: Hot Water Recirc On
description: ''
trigger:
  - platform: state
    to: 'off'
  - platform: time
    at: '05:00:00'
  - platform: numeric_state
    entity_id: sensor.sonoff_######_temperature
    below: '95'
condition: