HA, Hass.io, python, pexpect

I’ve been running home assistant on macOS for a few years.
In that time I’ve set up one particular configuration I’d like to bring to a new Hass.io instance (running in proxmox).
My set up uses expect scripts on the macOS host, that telnet into a “black box” power monitoring device, extract various sensor values and exit, returning this to HA, to log and display. HA is calling the expect scripts for each data stream using command line sensor.

I’m still a little confused about Hass.io, but from my reading, I shouldn’t expect (pun not intended) to be able to just port the scripts over as the HassOS is simplified and basically shouldn’t be tinkered with. I thought then at least I could copy the expect scripts to use python3’s pexpect. But installing that on the HassOS seems to just as “off limits” (as some have inferred in the forums whenever someone asks about such things.)

Can someone either confirm for me my fears, and/or suggest alternatives? Could I actually just install expect on HassOS, and copy the scripts over? Or install pexpect?
I feel like someone is going to say “just make a new Proxmox container, install linux and run whatever you want in there”. I guess I haven’t done that because it seems OTT for a simple set of scripts but also I’m not sure where to start with having the command line sensor call a script that’s in another container/VM/docker whatever. Perhaps you can tell I’m a little new to containers and virtualisation too.

I’ll post one of my existing expect scripts here:

#!/usr/bin/expect -f

# Assume $remote_server, $user_id, $my_password, and $my_command were read in earlier
  # in the script.

#$remote_server=10.0.1.24
  set prompt {~ # }

log_user 0

# Open a telnet session to a remote server, and wait for a username prompt.
  spawn telnet 10.0.1.24

expect "login: "
  send "root\r"
  expect "~ # "
send "bp get CTInput_1.power\r"
expect "\r\n"
expect "\r\n"
#expect eof
send "exit\r"