HA is very unstable

I have been using HA on a Raspberry Pi for close to two years. It was solid as a rock for about 6 months where it turns out my memory card died. Ok, bought a new card, restored snapshot and everything was good for another 6 months. Not a big deal as this wasn’t a HA issue. Then early this year, February maybe, it stopped working again. Thought it was the memory card so I replaced it. Then it stopped working the next day so this wasn’t a memory card issue. Power cycled the Pi and it was fine for 3 days then it stopped working. Repeat this with varying durations. Then the Pi went 30 days with no issues so I thought there was a bug in one of the versions and it was fixed. Well yesterday morning it stopped working so I power cycled the Pi and then this morning the same thing. This is getting very annoying and I’d like to fix this.

By not working I mean I can’t access the web site nor ssh into the Pi.

1 Like

Do you have another RaspberryPi you could try?
Do you have a different power supply for the Pi? They are picky about the power supply.

I know someone who had the same type of issues. I found, when using the Glances add on, that the swap file on the pi was filling up then locking the pi up. There are guides on how to increase its size and his Pi and HA have been solid since. Think he raised it from 100meg to 2gig but he is running HA and the pi from SSD so you may need to keep it a little smaller.

Warning - you are running from an SD card so the writes to it will increase doing this and it will wear out sooner. Would highly recommend moving to SSD if you can before increasing the swap size.

I do not have a spare Pi or spare power supply.

I was thinking about switching to a better storage system but I am not sure how. Any guides on this? I am a Windows developer, Linux is very new to me.