HA, ISY and Insteon Oh my

Hi all. I’m a newbie here so will try not to flood the forum with too many questions all at once.

For the past dozen years or so, I have been an ISY user. I had ~50 Insteon devices and loved how the ISY allowed me to set up rather complicated scenes. During that time period I went through three serial PLMs. Serial PLMs failing is a pretty common thing, and my experience was no different.

We sold our home recently and are building a new one. In the new home, over time, I will add Insteon devices though probably not near as many as I had in the old home. I will also have a few Z-wave devices (three Schlage door locks to start), a couple Nest thermostats, a Ring camera, a Harmony Hub, a few Google devices, eight Hunter Douglas automated blinds, and either a Sonos Port or Bluesound Node. (I think I covered everything)

I decided that with so many different protocols, it was time to move to something like Homeseer or Home Assistant. I enjoy tinkering and am fairly tech savvy (though my learning curve at 61 ain’t what it once was), so I have decided to jump into HA.

I just ordered an HA Blue and was planning to use a USB PLM to interface between the Blue and my Insteon devices. Then it occurred to me that one of the things I really liked about the ISY was it’s ability to create fairly complex scenes easily. I’ve read what I could here and have not understood all of it. My understanding so far is that:

1. Use a USB PLM and manually link Insteon devices to each other and to the PLM. Then the HA Blue should see the devices (maybe after a little work) and I can start my hands on learning. The disadvantage would be that setting up anything more than the most basic Insteon scenes this way can get complicated rather quickly.