HA Nuc Compatibility

Hi all

I am VERY new to this subject but want to explore it further. I am looking at the below NUC as an alternative to a Rpi or using a Synology NAS. This to give me maximum flexibility as I develop things. Want to start with lighting and include heating and intruder alarm, cctv, etc to create more or less a smart environment eventually.

HAS-T4: Home Assistant Server - Home Assistant Blue / Yellow Alternative — Smart Home Shop UK

Does anyone have any experience of this seller and or product?
Not looking to make things over complicated where not necessary but want to ensure things work locally without a cloud dependancy.

Thanks.

It should do fine, but I would not trust eMMC storage for the long term as a primary boot, I would invest in a barebones NuC that gives you the option to install your own SSD for the boot instead of having it soldered onto the pcb.

I currently use a NUC5i7RYH that I got second hand a while back swapped into an Akasa passive cooled chassis (had to ask them to custom order a single unit at the time otherwise they need to sell some models in bulk for the cost of manufacture) running windows 11 as the host with HA running in headless mode in a virtualbox vm instance set to boot up when the NuC boots after any power loss and the UPS runs out of power.

I’m using an mbeat 7 port powered USB hub at the moment to pass my BT and Skyconnect usb’s through it and have it velcro’d to the side of my server cabinet to avoid signal reduction with everything else being wifi/network based for devices connected to it for monitoring and automation’s.

To connect to my HA instance when not home I just use the OpenVPN server on my main router (there is an option in the mobile app for the client side to bypass the VPN when connected to your wifi else you can setup a tasker config to automate toggle of the vpn based on connection state iirc).