HA on Ubuntu: Sonoff Zigbee 3 USB problem

I can´t get my Sonoff radio to work.
This is my first step into the great world of home automation and linux.
Please be gentle, i am a noob.

Laptop: i5-4310U, 8GBRam, 250GB HD, hd Graphics 4400.
Ubuntu 20.04

Instaled HA via Snap
Localhost:8123

New device discorverd
Sonoff Zigbee 3.0 USB Dong - /dev/serial/by-id/…

Zigbee Home Automation
Do you want to set up Sonoff…

Failed to probe the device.

Lsusb
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 10c4:ea60 Silicon Laps CP210x UART Briged

usb-devices
T: Bus=01 Lev:02 Prnt=02 Port=01 Cnt=01 Dev#= 3 Spd=12 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=10c4 ProdID=ea60 Rev=01.00
S: Manufacturer=ITead
S: Product=Sonoff Zigbee 3.0 USB Dongle Plus
S: SerialNumber: xxxxxxxxxx
C: #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=100mA
I: If#=0x0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=cp210x

Driver
Lib/modules/5.15.0-43-generic/kernel/drivers/usb/serial/cp210x.ko

/Jan

This is probably where the problem is. The snap package very likely is managed by someone else, and not by HA. So maybe there is something else or configured differently? What is the HA version you got via snap?

I would follow the official install guide instead. You have options on various supported install methods, and snap is not one of those.

And from what I read here, would recommend you:

• either setup a VM hypervisor on your ubuntu, and then do HAOS install, and then passthrough USB to your HAOS VM.
  • or, if you are planning to dedicated the laptop to HA, maybe install HAOS directly to your laptop. This way the zigbee usb thing should be plug and play, since the driver is already there.

EDIT: I forgot the link, and now added.

Ha Core 2022.6.7

Thanks, I will try one of your suggestions.

Hi K8gg.