HA setup for offline house

Hello everyone, first of all I have to say that I’m new HA. I’m planning to build a setup of HA mainly for power consumption monitoring, at least as start project.

When I talk as offline House is because I don’t have internet access on my home WiFi, but I can provide some access for installation propose if needed but I can’t stay all the 24h online.

My idea is to use an Raspberry PI, or an Orange Pi, to install the server an connect to it using my home WiFi.

Then for the entire house I think I will build two (one for each phase) energy meters like in this post:

Or maybe buying one device for that but that’s where the problem start. As I’m new in this world I’m not sure what devices or systems will work on a 0. internet environment. I read something about ZigBee (which I didn’t understand) and Tuya, and Smart life that needs internet access

So for example if I want to monitor the power consumption of some particular devices, for affordable price I don’t where how to start, or what to buy.

I look into AliExpress and I see a lot of cheap wall sockets with energy monitoring but I only see of two types the ones that say WiFi or ZigBee. I think that the ZigBee ones are not for me, but it’s only a guess. So searching for the WiFi they all say compatible with tuya/Alexa/Google/smartlife (like this: https://a.aliexpress.com/_msMpoj8) but they don’t mention of Home Assistant, and all this services depends on internet so I don’t know if the work for me, only connecting them over my home WiFi to the HA.

Any advice on where to start?

Misleading as this a current meter build (no energy meter :warning:) which is close to useless for loads with a power factor lower then 1 :man_shrugging:

Don’t use/build current meters but power/energy meters instead!

Very acurate while still cheap are pzem004-v3 paired with a esp and supercharged with esphome

I would heavily advise to choose ESPHome compatible plugs :rocket: