HA Update "No updates available" & I'm a long way behind :-)

Hi

I’m new to HA & to this forum so please forgive me if I’m missing something obvious!

I installed HA on a 64bit Debian Bullseye vm a few months ago. Since installing the system has always reported it is up to date. I checked the HA version today and the system reports:

Home Assistant 2023.1.7
Frontend 20230110.0 - latest

If I try and update via the web UI the system reports:

No updates available

I did some googling and found I can update via a cli. While logged in via ssh to the homeassistant user if I run the command “hass-cli ha os update” I receive this response:

/usr/local/lib/python3.9/dist-packages/homeassistant_cli/config.py:42: FutureWarning: <homeassistant_cli.config._ZeroconfListener object at 0x7fe27b859f40> has no update_service method. Provide one (it can be empty if you don't care about the updates), it'll become mandatory.
  zeroconf.ServiceBrowser(_zeroconf, "_home-assistant._tcp.local.", listener)
Trying to locate Home Assistant on local network...
Found and using http://192.168.2.78:8123 as server
error: JSONDecodeError: Extra data: line 1 column 4 (char 3)
Run with -x to see full exception information

If I run with “-x” as suggested I receive this output:

/usr/local/lib/python3.9/dist-packages/homeassistant_cli/config.py:42: FutureWarning: <homeassistant_cli.config._ZeroconfListener object at 0x7f62b9966d60> has no update_service method. Provide one (it can be empty if you don't care about the updates), it'll become mandatory.
Extra data: line 1 column 4 (char 3)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/homeassistant/.local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/requests/models.py", line 971, in json
    return complexjson.loads(self.text, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.9/json/__init__.py", line 346, in loads
    return _default_decoder.decode(s)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.9/json/decoder.py", line 340, in decode
    raise JSONDecodeError("Extra data", s, end)