HACS and Emporia VUE integration- problem with installation

I am new to HA and I would like to install an integration with the Emporia VUE energy monitor. (GitHub - magico13/ha-emporia-vue: Home Assistant Integration for Emporia Vue Energy Monitor)
Apparently this requires installation of HACS so I followed the install instructions (https://hacs.xyz/docs/faq/installation) which is supposed to install the HACS integration. This seemed to run alright (created HACS directory, unpacked HACS). I restarted HA afterwards per the instructions but I don’t see a new integration. Can anyone tell me how I can get the Emporia integration installed?

HACS is another integration but it has special powers to install / uninstall other customer integrations, which are not bundled into home assistant yet.

• first install hacs
  • check integrations page if HACS is installed and active
  • when you have succeeded with hacs, you will receive a new item un hamburger menu as HACS
  • from this new page, you can install your custom integration. I don’t want to go details how to use HACS on this page, i am sure your custom integration covers it.

Thanks but after doing the HACS install (running the shell script) there is no new integration for HACS.

INFO: Trying to find the correct directory...
INFO: Found Home Assistant configuration directory at '/root/config'
INFO: Changing to the custom_components directory...
INFO: Downloading HACS

INFO: Creating HACS directory...
INFO: Unpacking HACS...
INFO: Removing HACS zip file...
INFO: Installation complete.

INFO: Remember to restart Home Assistant before you configure it

OK, I managed to get HACS installed as an integration. I think I am now in the “rate limited stage”. We’ll see if that clears and I am able to add the Emporia integration.

So far log looks like this:

10:52:51 AM – (ERROR) System Health (custom integration)
Error adding entities for domain sensor with platform nws