HAOS installed on internal SSD, but won't boot without SD card in the slot?

I’m new to HA and have zero knowledge about Linux, Ubuntu, Python, and coding in general, or pretty much anything that involves typing commands in rather than clicking on them in a menu. So I apologies in advance as I might not understand all of the terminology being used, or how to do some of the things that I’m being asked to do.

As the title says, I have HAOS installed on the local SSD, but HA won’t boot at all without the original SD card that I used for the installation in the slot

What I wanted to do

I wanted to install Home Assistant OS on an old x86 based PC. I wanted it on the local SSD, and for it to be self contained on that SSD.

What I thought I was doing

I can’t find the original tutorial that I used, but it was pretty close to the official one.

I downloaded the official x86 version of the HAOS installation image, put the image on to an SD card using Etcher, and then booted to it. I then followed the prompts to install HAOS on to the local SSD.

I rebooted and everything seemed perfect, so I built my automation system and went my merry way.

At least this is what I thought I was doing. Somewhere along the way I did something wrong, and I’m not sure what it was, or when it was.

What actually happened

I’ve some how managed to install HAOS in such a way that it’s dependent on the SD card being in the slot.

When I remove the SD card from the slot and try to reboot my system it simply comes to the default BIOS (or whatever it’s called these days) screen telling me that there is no boot able disc available.

If I put the SD card back in and reboot, everything is peachy.

At first I thought that this meant that I’d installed HAOS on to the SD card somehow, but whenever I look at anything in HAOS it tells me that it’s on the SSD and it doesn’t even mention the SD card existing.